Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

 The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the Osun State governorship election inconclusive.

In the outcome of the election, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ademola Adeleke, had a total number of 254,698 votes to defeat that of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Gboyega Oyetola, who also had in a total number of 254,345 votes.

However, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winning with about 353 votes, but due to irregularities which marred the election at some polling units in Ife North, Ife South, Osogbo Local government areas and Orolu local government areas.

However, there is also cases of card reader malfunctioning, ballot box snatching, among others, this led to the cancellation of 3,498 votes recorded in the affected seven polling units.

  • 947 registered votes canceled in Orolu LGA. 
  • Ife  South LGA: 547 VOTES canceled. 
  • Ife North LGA: 337 votes canceled. 
  • Osogbo LGA: 884 

  • TOTAL VOTES Cancelled: 3,448.

In line with INEC regulation, if winning votes is less than canceled votes, rerun is it in affected areas.

The Returning Officer now fix September 27, 2018, for the rerun of the seven affected polling units...


No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]