Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has declared Alhaji Gboyegba Oyeyola of the All Progressives Congress APC as the winner of the State of OSUN governorship election. APC Candidate: Gboyega Oyetola declared Governor-elect. Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola will succeed Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola as the governor of Osun state on 27 November, 2018.

The chief returning officer for the election, Professor Joseph Adeola Fuwape declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress the winner at about 15 minutes past 1 on Friday, 28th of September 2018.

He said; That, Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner of the election and returned elected.

Oyetola scored 255,505 votes to beat Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party with just 482 votes.

The PDP candidate scored 255,023 votes.

The election held on 22 September went into a rerun in some seven polling units.

The PDP candidate led the APC candidate with 353 votes before the rerun.

The difference was wiped out in the rerun, with the Social Democratic Party candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore, who was the second runner up in the first election, going into alliance with the APC.

The alliance was the game changer as Omisore gave the APC candidate, the votes needed in Ile-Ife to wipe out the PDP candidate’s lead.

Summary of Results. 

Registered Voters: 1,678,985
Accredited voters: 775687

Valid Votes : 721,621

Rejected votes: 47874

Total votes cast`; 769495

Adeoti of ADP: 49,743 votes

Adeleke of PDP: 255,023

Oyetola of APC: 255,505

Omisore of SDP: 128053

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]