• Wed. Jan 19th, 2022

BREAKING: Judge Signs an Order Releasing Detained Igboho’s Aides

Aug 23, 2021
Some of the aides of Yoruba Nation agitator, Sunday Adeyemo

After 53 days, judge signs an order releasing detained Igboho’s aides.

The 12 aides of embattled Yoruba Nation agitator, Sunday Adeyemo aka Sunday Igboho, are set to taste freedom again after 53 days in detention, as Justice Obiora Egwuatu of the Federal High Court, Abuja, signed their Release Order on Monday.

According to the news reaching out, we learned that the presiding judge ignored the DSS lawyer, Idowu Awo, and signed the Release Order for the four contested detainees.

Amudat Babatunde, Abideen Shittu, Jamiu Oyetunji, and Bamidele Sunday are their names.

Pelumi Olajengbesi, the detainees’ lawyer, confirmed the development to our correspondent on Monday.

He stated that the judge was unable to sign the Release Order for the other eight detainees because three of the sureties withdrew before the process of perfecting his clients’ bail conditions was completed.

Abdullateef Onaolapo, Tajudeen Irinloye, Dikeola Ademola, Ayobami Donald, Uthman Adelabu, Olakunle Oluwapelumi, Raji Kazeem, and Taiwo Tajudeen are the eight detainees.

Olajengbesi, on the other hand, expressed confidence that the three sureties who backed out would be replaced and that the judge would sign their Release Order as well.

The lawyer also urged the DSS to obey the court order and immediately release his clients.

Recall that the DSS had petitioned an Abuja Court of Appeal to revoke the bail granted to the contested four — Babatunde, Shittu, Oyetunji, and Sunday — by the Federal High Court in Abuja.

The secret police had expressed strong dissatisfaction with Justice Egwuatu’s ruling on August 4, 2021, granting bail to all detainees despite the DSS lawyer’s objection that Babatunde, Shittu, Oyetunji, and Sunday should not be granted bail.

While Awo stated that investigations revealed that the four detainees were heavily involved in their boss, Igboho’s, alleged offence of arms stockpiling and other criminal activities.

However, on August 4, Justice Egwuatu granted bail to all 12 applicants, including Babatunde, Shittu, Oyetunji, and Sunday.

The court divided the bail granted to the applicants into two categories:

Eight of the detainees were granted bail in the sum of N5 million, with two sureties, each of whom was a resident of Abuja, and evidence of two years’ tax payment.

The remaining four, whose bail was opposed by the DSS, had bail terms of N10m, two sureties each resident in Abuja, with one of them being a civil servant in a Federal Government ministry or any of its agencies with a grade-level of not less than 12.

The 24 sureties were secured last week, but the presiding judge who was supposed to sign their Release Order was said to have gone abroad.

However, on Monday, Justice Egwuatu signed the Release Order for the contested four, who had all eight sureties. He is also expected to sign the Release Order for the remaining eight after their 16 sureties have been completed.

All detainees were apprehended around 1 a.m. on July 1, 2021, when the DSS “raided” Igboho’s Ibadan residence in Gestapo fashion.

The secret police also claimed that its agents killed two more of the activist’s associates in a “gun duel.”

The 12 detainees had petitioned the court for their release.

Credit: PunchNG

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.